Kansas City, Kansas, Traffic Violation Attorney
Protect Your License — and Maybe Your Freedom
A traffic ticket sounds harmless enough. Many people simply pay the fine, not realizing the potentially serious consequences. If the police have charged you with a major traffic violation, or you have accumulated too many minor citations, contact the Stone Law Office today to discuss your case.
Free Consultation: 913-281-6601
Kansas City, Kansas, criminal defense lawyer Gary D. Stone represents clients across the metro area who have been charged with serious traffic violations, or face license suspension because of too many points on their licenses. He can shield you from the worst consequences of the three major offenses:
- Driving with a suspended license (DWLS)
- Driving without insurance
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI)
Any combination of convictions (or diversion in lieu of conviction) for three major violations in five years could result in a three-year revocation of your license.
Three moving violations of any kind in a 12-month period (e.g., speeding, running a red light, passing a school bus) could result in suspension of your driver's license for 30 days or longer. Mr. Stone may be able to get your traffic ticket changed to a non-moving violation, or possibly challenge the ticket in court.
In addition to loss of your license, you may face steep fines and higher insurance rates. Notably, Kansas law does not provide for a restricted "hardship" license to drive to work while you are suspended; however, in some convictions and jurisdictions, hardships may be available.
Driving While License Suspended or Revoked (DWLS)
Driving While Suspended is a misdemeanor that is punishable by jail time of 5 days to one year in the county jail, and fines of up to $2.500. Depending upon the jurisdiction (and your record), Mr. Stone may be able to negotiate house arrest, probation, suspension of sentence, or other alternatives to avoid the jail time. If found guilty of Driving While Suspended, your license will be suspended for 90 days, and you will have to pay additional fees to get your license reinstated.
Driving Without Mandatory Liability Insurance
Be cautious if the police cite you for driving without insurance. This is not a simple ticket. Failure to provide proof of liability insurance is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in jail, and fines ranging from $300 to $1,000. Do not simply go to court and plead guilty. Upon conviction, your license will be suspended until you prove you have insurance. You will also be required to maintain insurance for one year.
Some jurisdictions in the Kansas City, Kansas, area offer diversion programs, or may set aside past convictions to avoid license suspension. The Stone Law Office will run your traffic record and devise the best strategy to keep you out of jail, avoid loss of your driver's license, and get your license back. Gary Stone is an experienced trial attorney and former Wyandotte County, Kansas, prosecutor with the skill to obtain the most favorable outcome.
Call an Experienced Traffic Violation Lawyer First.
Contact the Stone Law Office today for a free consultation at 913-281-6601. The Stone Law Office offers evening and weekend appointments, and accepts major credit cards.